Chiang Mai, Thailand Update

So two Saturdays ago I got accepted.

Commence spazzing out

…and anxiety officially setting in.

When I received the email I was so happy (and still am) but within a few moments, equal parts of fear and anxiety also came over me.

Not only did I get accepted, but I already know what I am teaching -Beginning and Intermediate English, and Composition for the third year students.

I basically got what I wanted.

But I’m still freaked out. When I got the email I started tearing up for happiness…and then started crying out of fear as the feeling of ‘what the heck did I get myself into?!?!’ came over me.

What I need right about now...

What I need right about now…

I mean, besides forcing my little brother to play school with me, I have never taught in a ‘classroom’ setting…and now I’m teaching 3 classes, and am having to prepare all of the curriculum (commence freak out #2).

I mean, what am I doing…do I know what I’m doing? No, not at all…but I’ll overcome it, right? I can do this!…?

I honestly don’t even know where I’m going with this post.

But I thought I should let every know that I still exist, and that I haven’t abandoned this blog…and that instead of just talking about wanting/hoping to do something…I will actually be doing it.

Crazy, I know.

So, you might be wondering (as I still am) what I am doing prepare for the classes I’ll be teaching.

Let’s just say Amazon and I have become best-buds in the past week. My wish list is freakin’ ginormous with books for myself and possibly for my future students.

So I’ll be doing a lot of reading -both books and blogs, and once winter break is here, I’ll be starting a TEFL online course. While I know many who have gone there without taking TEFL courses, I feel (that as a perfectionist) I must, to the best of my abilities, prepare as much as I can. While I know that I’ll be completely unprepared in most ways, it is very important for me to try to do what I can and it really helps the nerves.

So yeah, that’s what I’m up to -freaking out.

But I know I’ll be okay…and when I leave in six months, a whole year of the hardest personal growth I will have ever gone through (so far) will start. I am scared but have faith that somehow, this completely unqualified girl will push through and become a better person.

Isn’t that what life is all about? Becoming a better you?

I don’t know about others, but I’m looking forward to meeting the future and better Julia.

Oh, and if you have any tips for me, you’re more than welcome to comment or message me…I would really appreciate it!

4 thoughts on “Chiang Mai, Thailand Update

  1. Congrats on your acceptance! If I may suggest, taking a TEFL class that is NOT online, if you have a choice. I feel getting into the classroom, meeting other folks face to face and getting that experience b/f you teach can be really helpful.

    I’ve written a lot about teaching EFL in Thailand here: http://lanivcox.wordpress.com/category/teaching-efl/ and you might want to check out ajarn.com which is the big place for TEFL teachers in Thailand. Drop me a line when arrive! Good luck 😉

    • Thanks for commenting! I really would like to take a course that is not online (I’m pretty wary of any type of class online) but usually they end up being too expensive, far away, and also because of work and full time school they always somehow conflict with my schedule. So unfortunately it is my only option 😦

      I’ve actually was reading your EFL posts a few nights ago -they were very informative, entertaining, and very appreciated! 🙂 Thanks for the website! I’ll definitely be checking it out!

  2. Congratulations!!!

    Ive been thinking about going to thailand over the last cupla days as works not happening and was researching and came across your blog.

    I am gonna be solo, and this would be my first trip outside of india, would be good to be able to hang around with some like minded folks like yourself.

    God Bless
    Roy

Leave a Reply

